Code: 375542 A

The new Iranian parliament elected Ali Larijani as its interim chairman.

Larijani won the contest against Mohammad Reza Aref who represents Tehran constituency in the parliament.

He won 173 votes in favor to take the position.

The structure of the interim presiding board of the legislative body will take place during Majlis’ second open session.

The new round of Iran’s parliament started work here on Saturday with a special ceremony attended by a number of ranking officials.

The 10th parliament opened officially after hearing the message by the Supreme Leader of the Islamic Revolution Ayatollah Seyyed Ali Khamenei to the new round of the legislative body.

President Hassan Rouhani and his deputies as well as cabinet members, Expediency Chief Ayatollah Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani, Judiciary Chief Ayatollah Sadeq Larijani, the Secretary of the Guardians Council Ayatollah Ahmad Jannati and a number of foreign ambassadors residing in Tehran were invited to the parliament on the occasion.



Ali Larijani Iranian Parliament Mohammad Reza Aref
Send Comment